Home > sysadmin > Upgrading from Debian Wheezy to Jessie

Upgrading from Debian Wheezy to Jessie

Upgrading from Wheezy to Jessie on my Linode was fairly simple. I followed the upgrade
guide on linode.com. I had a few surprises..mostly due to my dotdeb updates (which I disabled
during the upgrade). I like to do all this as root. You can add sudo to commands if you
do not like to use root.

To summarize, here are the steps:
1) stop all services.
2) comment out any extra repositories in /etc/apt/sources.list.
3) Edit /etc/apt/sources.list and change all “wheezy” to “jessie”
with vi %s/wheezy/jessie/g
4)update packages list: apt-get update
5)apt-get install apt dpkg aptitude
6)update apache2 sites-available to add .conf extension to all sites.
7)apt-get dist-upgrade
8)Watch the process so you can answer any update questions that occur.

After completion, reboot the system using the Linode manager and login to test.

Debian 8 Jessie is a nice upgrade. I was worried about systemd however, Debian made it
pretty much transparent.

I will update the problems I had and fixes in a future post.

Categories: sysadmin
  1. July 28, 2019 at 8:47 am

    I have noticed you don’t monetize broceblog.net, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn additional bucks every month with new monetization method.
    This is the best adsense alternative for any type
    of website (they approve all sites), for more info simply search
    in gooogle: murgrabia’s tools

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment